AC/DC Highway to Hell


Highway to Hell

hard rock · rock · classic rock

Highway to Hell is the sixth studio album by Australian hard rock band AC/DC,
released in July 1979. It is also AC/DC’s fifth international studio album. All songs
were written by Angus Young, Malcolm Young, and Bon Scott. It was the last
album featuring Bon Scott, who died early the following year.

The album has ten tracks:

1. “Highway to Hell” – 3:28 Download mp3

2. “Girls Got Rhythm” – 3:23 Download mp3

3. “Walk All Over You” – 5:10 Download mp3

4. “Touch Too Much” – 4:27 Download mp3

5. “Beating Around the Bush” – 3:56 Download mp3

6. “Shot Down in Flames” – 3:22 Download mp3

7. “Get It Hot” – 2:34 Download mp3

8. “If You Want Blood (You’ve Got It)” – 4:37 Download mp3

9. “Love Hungry Man” – 4:17 Download mp3

10. “Night Prowler” – 6:27 Download mp3

about this album:

All songs were written by Angus Young, Malcolm Young, and Bon Scott.

It was originally released by Albert Productions, who licensed the album to Atlantic
Records for release outside of Australia, and was then re-released by Epic Records
in 2003 as part of the AC/DC Remasters series. On May 25th 2006, Highway To
Hell was certified 7x platinum by the RIAA. In 2003, the album was ranked number
199 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

Highway to Hell is the last AC/DC album recorded with lead vocalist Bon Scott
before his death in February 1980. The final words spoken by Scott on the album
are “Shazbot, na-nu na-nu,” phrases used on the then-popular American sitcom,
Mork and Mindy, by lead character Mork (a visiting extraterrestrial played by Robin

Highway to Hell was the first AC/DC album not produced by Harry Vanda and
George Young. Pre-production of the album began in January 1979 with demos cut
at Albert Studios in Sydney, Australia, where they met the intended producer, Eddie
Kramer. Kramer was fired before a single track had been completed, and Robert
John “Mutt” Lange was brought in to replace him. The change proved to be
fortuitous, with Lange also producing the band’s biggest sellers, Back in Black and
For Those About to Rock. The album was recorded during sessions in February
1979 at Criteria Studios in Miami, Florida and March-April at Roundhouse Studios
in London, England.

In Australia, Highway to Hell was released with a slightly different album cover,
featuring flames and a drawing of a bass guitar neck superimposed over the same
group photo used on the international cover. Additionally, the East German release
had different and much plainer designs on the front and back, apparently because
the authorities were not happy with the sleeve as released elsewhere.


Bon Scott – lead vocals

Angus Young – lead guitar

Malcolm Young – rhythm guitar, backing vocals

Cliff Williams – bass, backing vocals

Phil Rudd – drums

Robert John “Mutt” Lange – producer

Mark Dearnley – engineer

Chart positions

Billboard Music Charts (North America) – album

1979 Pop Albums No. 1
Billboard (North America) – singles

1979 Highway To Hell Pop Singles No. 2

1992 Highway To Hell(Live) Mainstream Rock Tracks No. 11


Posted on 25 August 2015, in AC/DC and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on AC/DC Highway to Hell.

Comments are closed.